牙周 疾病

牙周疾病 (也稱為牙齦疾病) 是舉行到位的牙齒的牙齦和骨感染. 菌斑中的細菌產生的毒素,刺激牙齦, 這可能會導致他們變成紅色, 膨脹和容易流血. 如果這個刺激的時間過長, 單獨從牙齒牙齦, 造成的口袋 (空格) 向表單. 作為牙周疾病進展, 支援的牙齦組織和骨固定牙齒的惡化. 如果不及時治療, 這會導致牙齒脫落.  牙周疾病往往無痛,你可能不知道你有一個問題,直到你的牙齦和支援骨嚴重受損。

影響健康的牙齦其他重要因素包括::

  • 吸煙
  • 糖尿病
  • 應力
  • 緊咬及磨齒
  • 藥物治療
  • 營養不良

縮放和刨根

牙周疾病可以治療在早期階段與縮放和刨根或深層清潔. 縮放用來去除菌斑和牙垢下牙齦線到底部的口袋. 齒根表面然後平滑或刨光. 這種程式有助於牙齦組織癒合和牙周萎縮. 該過程也就難以更牌匾,再沿根表面積累. 可能給局部麻醉,以減少任何不適. 深層清潔,説明癒合和説明控制感染後可能會推薦處方含漱液或 Arestin.

預防牙齦疾病

預防牙齦疾病的最佳方法是有效的每日 刷牙和使用牙線 以及週期性專業檢查和清洗. 不幸的是, 即使有最勤奮的家庭牙科護理, 人們仍然可以開展一些形式的牙周疾病. 一旦這種疾病開始, 專業的干預是必要的以防止其進展.

Periodontal diseases

Periodontal diseases (also known as gum diseases) are infections of the gum and bone that hold teeth in place. Bacteria found in plaque produces toxins that irritate the gums, which may cause them to turn red, swell and bleed easily. If this irritation is prolonged, the gums separate from the teeth, causing pockets (spaces) to form. As periodontal diseases progress, the supporting gum tissue and bone that holds teeth in place deteriorate. If left untreated, this leads to tooth loss.  Periodontal diseases are often painless and you may not be aware of that you have a problem until your gums and the supporting bone are seriously damaged. 

Other important factors affecting the health of your gums include:

  • Smoking
  • Diabetes
  • Stress
  • Clenching and grinding teeth
  • Medication
  • Poor nutrition

scaling and root planing

Periodontal diseases can be treated in the early stages with scaling and root planing or deep cleaning. Scaling is used to remove plaque and tartar beneath the gum line down to the bottom of pocket.  The tooth’s root surfaces are then smoothed or planed.  This procedure helps gum tissue to heal and periodontal pockets to shrink.  The procedure also makes it more difficult for plaque to accumulate along the root surfaces again.  A local anesthetic may be given to reduce any discomfort.  Prescription mouthrinse or Arestin may be recommended after deep cleaning to aid healing and help control infection.

Preventing Gum Disease

The best way to prevent gum disease is effective daily brushing and flossing as well as regular professional examinations and cleanings. Unfortunately, even with the most diligent home dental care, people still can develop some form of periodontal disease. Once this disease starts, professional intervention is necessary to prevent its progress.